Six Hoosier Broadcasting Icons Named to 2022 Indiana Broadcast Pioneers Hall of Fame Class

Carmel, Ind. – June 6, 2022 – Six Hoosier broadcasters will be inducted into the Indiana Broadcast Pioneers Hall of Fame this October. The Indiana Broadcasters Association today announced the 2022 Hall of Fame class:

• Bob & Tom Show co-host and news director Kristi Lee
• Fort Wayne News Director Ted Linn
• Indianapolis station creative services director Peggy McClelland
• Indianapolis news anchor John Stehr
• Sportscaster and NBA player Jerry Harkness (posthumous award)
• Legendary station manager Tom Severino (posthumous award)

“The 2022 Hall of Fame Class is comprised of well-known broadcasters who pushed the boundaries of innovation and made the Indiana communities they served better, more informed places to live,” said Dave Arland, Executive Director of the Indiana Broadcasters Association. “For decades, our newest group of Hall of Famers have provided critical eyes, ears, and voices for listeners and viewers in Indiana and beyond. They have told wonderful stories and are each also active members of their communities. We are honored to add our 2022 honorees to the honor roll of the Indiana Broadcast Pioneers Hall of Fame.”

In addition to the Hall of Fame recognitions, the Indiana Broadcasters Association announced that nominations are now open through Friday, July 15 for two other annual awards:

2022 Lifetime Achievement Award: This annual award recognizes individuals for exceptional meritorious service, contributions to, or achievements in, the field of broadcasting in Indiana over the course of a career. This is the IBA’s highest honor and is presented to an Indiana broadcaster whose work is uniquely beneficial and of superior value to their community and to the Association.

2022 Tom Severino Leadership Award: The Tom Severino Leadership Award is given to an individual with at least 10 years of service with ties to radio and/or TV broadcasting in Indiana who has demonstrated passion for broadcast media with an emphasis on serving the public. Honorees have a portfolio of leadership activities within the broadcast industry and within the communities served by the broadcast properties this individual worked for during their career.

This year’s Indiana Broadcast Pioneers Hall of Fame class will be inducted during the annual Indiana Broadcasters Conference on Tuesday, October 4 in Carmel. Hall of Fame honorees for this year include:


Kristi Lee is best known for the nationally syndicated Bob & Tom Show where she began in 1987. Currently, she is the show’s co-host and news director. She began her career as one of the first female engineers at WRTV. Then she worked for radio stations WIRE, WNAP, and WENS. She has also covered sports for ESPN and the Indiana Pacers.

Ted Linn served as News Director of WANE-TV in Fort Wayne for 16 of his nearly 40 years in television news, before his retirement. He took the station’s news to the leading spot in the market. They received a number of IBA Spectrum Awards, two Regional Emmy Awards and an Edward R. Murrow Award. Prior to working in Fort Wayne Ted worked for WISH in Indianapolis, WLFI in Lafayette, and WKEF in Dayton.

Peggy McClelland has worked for WTTV, WNDY, KFVE and WISH. She rose to production manager at WTTV in 1987. In 1989, she left for KFVE, Honolulu to be production manager. She returned to Indianapolis and WTTV in 1995. She served as Executive Producer for the statewide Hoosier Millionaire broadcast. She is currently Creative Service Director at WISH in Indianapolis.

Prior to his retirement, John Stehr was lead anchor for 23 years at WTHR in Indianapolis. His work earned him numerous Regional Emmy Awards. Previously he was anchor in New York for CBS Morning News and CNBC’s The Money Wheel. He began his career working for stations in Pennsylvania, Michigan, and Indiana.

Jerry Harkness was the first African American sportscaster in Indiana at WTHR, and was also a two-time All American at Loyola and played for the NBA New York Knicks and ABA
Indiana Pacers. He was the first Black spokesperson for Quaker Oats and Indianapolis United Way. As a social activist, he helped found the 100 Black Men mentoring organization. Harkness will be posthumously recognized.

Tom Severino’s 30-year career included two stops in Indianapolis. He managed WIRE, WXTZ and Network Indiana then left for stations in Chicago, Detroit and Cincinnati. Returning to Emmis Communications in 1994, he led WIBC, WLHK, WFNI WYXB and Network Indiana. Tom and his stations won many awards, but he is best remembered by his employees for being a beloved leader. Severino will be posthumously recognized.


"*" indicates required fields

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.