Six Hoosier Broadcasters Inducted as Part of 2023 Hall of Fame Class

Six Hoosier broadcasters will be inducted into the Indiana Broadcast Pioneers Hall of Fame this Fall. The Indiana Broadcasters Association today announced the 2023 Hall of Fame class includes play-by-play announcer Mark Boyle, radio show host Deb Miles, motorsports broadcaster Robin Miller, game-show host and sports broadcaster Mark Patrick, television producer Clayton Taylor, and meteorologist Marcia Yockey.

“The 2023 Hall of Fame Class is made up of diverse broadcasters who pushed the boundaries of innovation and made the Indiana communities where they worked better, more informed places to live,” said Dave Arland, Executive Director of the Indiana Broadcasters Association. “For decades, our newest group of Hall of Famers have provided critical eyes, ears, and voices for Hoosiers, but most importantly, they didn’t just tell stories, they were all active members of their communities and were hands on in moving the state forward.”

This year’s Hall of Fame class will be inducted during the annual Indiana Broadcasters Conference October 2 at Gainbridge Fieldhouse.

Mark Boyle

Mark is known for play by play of over 3000 Indiana Pacers games since 1988. Widely respected in the NBA broadcasting community, he has won several awards for his work. Mark believes in giving back and walked across Indiana to raise money for the Wish Fund.

Deb Miles

In the Northern Indiana city of Mishawaka, Deb Miles has served WBYT-FM listeners for over 22 years. She is known for her longevity, ratings success and a passion for community service. Deb has raised hundreds of thousands of dollars for charities including St. Jude’s Children’s Hospital, Riverbed Cancer Center, and Goodwill.

Robin Miller

Known Nationally to viewers of ESPN, SPEED and NBC, Robin Miller’s career covered over 50 years including 30 plus at the Indianapolis Star. It’s no surprise much of his career focused on auto racing since he owned race cars and drove them himself for 10 years. Robin is in the Motorsports Hall of Fame and Sprint Car Hall of Fame.

Mark Patrick

Mark hosted MLB’s year round program “Baseball This Morning” on XM Satellite Radio. He was heard on 150 stations on Fox Radio Sports. From 1987 to 2005 he was featured on the nationally syndicated Bob and Tom Show. In Indiana, Mark is best known as host of the Hoosier Millionaire from1989 to 2003.

Clayton Taylor

Clayton is known Nationally for his work in Pubic Television. In his 20 plus years at WFYI the Indianapolis the staton has won 130 Emmys. In recent times, about 50 of WFYI’s productions have been seen on PBS stations across the U.S. Perhaps best known among them is the internationally acclaimed documentary EVA.

Marcia Yockey

Marcia was recruited by the U. S. Weather Service in 1943 and trained as a meteorologist. Her 35 year TV career began in Southern Indiana at Evansville’s WFIE in 1953. Popular for her humorous approach, she declined offers to work in New York and L.A. A skilled pilot, her favorite pass time was flying her plane.


"*" indicates required fields

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.