Indiana Broadcasters Association Awarding $30,000 in College Scholarships

Carmel, Ind. – April 17, 2017 – The Indiana Broadcasters Association is awarding scholarships to six college students to help them pursue degrees in the field of broadcasting.  

This year, due to the generosity of TV and radio stations across the state, each winner will receive a $5,000 scholarship to help pay for their education as they study the art of broadcasting. 

Name                                   College                                           Hometown

Kaitlin Billman                    Indiana University                            Indianapolis

Esther Bower                       Ball State University                        Oxford

Kaitlyn Kendall                   University of Indianapolis               Indianapolis

Jackson Kizer                      Ball State University                         Carmel

Maxwell Lewis                     Ball State University                         Shelbyville

Tilly Marlatt                          DePauw University                          Attica

Kaitlin Billman is a junior at Indiana University studying broadcast journalism who hopes to become a TV news reporter after graduation.

Esther Bower is pursuing a dual degree in Journalism (NEWS) & Telecommunications while also majoring in Dance at Ball State and aspires to work in the television broadcasting industry as a reporter and anchor, with her ultimate goal of being a voice for the community and telling their stories.

Kaitlyn Kendall is a junior at the University of Indianapolis majoring in Communications with an emphasis in electronic media who hopes to become a television reporter and work her way to anchoring in the future.

Jackson Kizer is pursuing a Bachelor’s Degree in Digital Sports Production at Ball State University and dreams of becoming a play-by-play sports broadcaster on a national level.

Maxwell Lewis is majoring in Journalism and Telecommunications and minoring in Spanish at Ball State as well as a crime/breaking news reporter for the Ball State Daily News and reporter and associate producer for our nightly newscast, NewsLink Indiana. He hopes to one day be an international correspondent or cover the White House or maybe both.

Tilly Marlatt is a sophomore at DePauw University double majoring in Communication and English Writing and plans to pursue a career as an investigative reporter at a TV station upon graduation.

“The IBA awarded $11,000 in scholarships in 2016, but one of our core missions is supporting the future of broadcastings, so we decided to enhance our scholarship program by increasing the awards to $5,000 to have an even greater impact,” said Dave Arland, IBA Executive Director.  “This year’s recipients of the IBA Scholarship have demonstrated a staunch commitment to the field of broadcasting and a high level of achievement both in and out of the classroom.  We are honored to support their ongoing education with these awards.”

The IBA would like to thank the following member stations for their financial contributions and for judging nearly 50 applicants.

WAJI FM – Fort Wayne

WAKO FM – Lawrenceville, IL

WAMW AM – Washington

WAMW FM – Washington

WAXI FM – Rockville

WBKQ FM – Alexandria

WEDJ FM – Danville

WERK FM – Muncie

WFMS FM – Fishers

WFNB FM – Brazil

WFNF AM – Brazil

WFNI AM – Indianapolis

WGCL AM – Bloomington

WHBU AM – Anderson

WHON AM – Centerville

WIBC FM – Indianapolis

WITZ FM – Jasper

WITZ AM- Jasper

WJJK FM – Noblesville

WLBC FM – Muncie

WLDE FM  – Fort Wayne

WLHK FM – Shelbyville

WLTI AM – New Castle

WMDH FM – New Castle

WMXQ FM – Hartford City

WNDU TV – South Bend

WNIT TV – South Bend

WNTR FM – Indianapolis

WPTA TV – Fort Wayne

WQLK FM – Richmond

WRAY AM – Princeton

WRAY FM – Princeton

WRWM FM – Lawrence

WTHR TV – Indianapolis

WTTS FM – Bloomington

WVIG FM – Seelyville

WVPE FM – Elkhart

WXFN AM – Muncie

WXNT AM – Indianapolis

WYXB FM – Indianapolis

WZJK FM – West Terre Haute

WZPL FM – Greenfield

WXIN TV – Indianapolis

WTTV TV – Indianapolis

IMS Productions – Indianapolis


"*" indicates required fields

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.