Nominations Open for 2016 Hall of Fame

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2016 class to be named to the Richard M. Fairbanks Indiana Broadcast Hall of Fame.  Since 1981, more than 160 people have been named to the Hall of Fame, which recognizes individuals who have made a significant contribution to broadcasting in Indiana.

“The many icons and familiar voices and faces of Hoosier broadcasting are duly recognized by selection in the Hall of Fame, and we’re grateful that the Indiana State Museum continues to showcase the talents and contributions of Indiana’s broadcasters.  We’ve now opened the nominating process.  Traditionally, the Indiana Broadcast Pioneers committee vets the nominees and then recommends honorees to the full board of the Indiana Broadcasters Association for consideration,” said IBA Executive Director Dave Arland.

Letters of nomination are accepted from anyone who is currently employed at a radio or TV station in Indiana, who serves as a broadcast faculty member at an Indiana college or university, or who is retired with a minimum of ten years of service in broadcasting.

Nominations should also include sufficient information to justify eligibility, and nominees should have demonstrated a significant dedication to any phase of the broadcast industry. Dedication may be judged by length of service and steady advancement and accomplishments that have earned recognition.  Judges will also consider a nominee’s credibility that has contributed to audience respect and enhanced the dignity and prestige of the broadcasting industry, including personal involvement.  Finally, candidates should have an Indiana connection either by birth or broadcast experience.  Previously submitted nominations will also be considered.

Thanks to the generous contribution from the Richard M. Fairbanks Foundation, the Indiana Broadcast Hall of Fame and the broadcast exhibit in the Indiana State Museum was refurbished and updated in 2006. In recognition of this gift, the Indiana Broadcast Hall of Fame was named The Richard M. Fairbanks Indiana Broadcast Hall of Fame.

Nominations may be e-mailed directly to:
or sent via U.S. Mail to:

Indiana Broadcasters Association

Hall of Fame Nominations

P.O. Box 902

Carmel, IN  46082


"*" indicates required fields

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.