2017 Spectrum Awards Finalists

The 30th Annual Indiana Broadcasters Association Spectrum Awards will be held at lunch on Friday, November 3rd at the 502 East Event Centre in Carmel.

The Spectrum Awards lunch is part of the full-day Indiana Broadcasters Conference and is included as a part of the $40 admission.  We invite your entire staff to join us for the awards and conference.  

You can register for the Conference now.

Also during lunch, the IBA will induct the newest class into the Indiana Broadcast Pioneers Richard M. Fairbanks Hall of Fame. This year’s inductees are sportscaster Joe McConnell, TV reporter Jack Rinehart, radio personality Ken Speck, and TV videographer Steve Starnes.

Radio Market 1: Indianapolis Metro Area, Evansville, Fort Wayne, South Bend

Station of the Year





WIBC – July 19 CJ Miller, anchor

WOWO – Best Newscast, Darrin Wright

WTRC – Jon Zimney 5PM News 8-16-16

Radio Station Broadcast Personality or Team

WIBC – Chicks On the Right

WKDQ – The Q Crew Radio Show with Dave and Leslie

WNOW – The Joe & Alex Show on RadioNOW 100.9


WIBC – Heroes of the 500

WSBT – Darin Pritchett Notre Dame Hockey – South Bend Cubs

Best Radio Commercial

WFNI – Laborers Local 120 Coty’s Story

WRBR – United Beverage Scrooged

WTRC – Home Comfort Experts Game of Pinecones

Best Promotional Campaign 

WBCL – Same Great Sound, Fun New Look

WBYT – B100 Christmas Wishes 2016

WTRC – WTRC FM Election Night Coverage 2016

Best Election Coverage 

WFYI – Indiana Public Broadcasting Live Election Night 2016

WIBC – Best Election Coverage WIBC

WTRC – Michiana’s Election Headquarters 2016

Radio Market 2: All Other Markets

Station of the Year 





WBST – IPR 5pm ATC Newscast from Jan 11, 2017

WSCH – Best Newscast – October 2016

WQLK – News April 18, 2017

Radio Station Broadcast Personality or Team

WERK – Jaybo

WLBC – Simon Hoying

WMXQ – Brian Casey

Local Community Involvement 

WKOA – Neuhoff Media-Feed the Need Day

WLBC – School Supply Drive

WRSW – Riley Radio Days 2017


WAMW – Washington Hatchet Basketball with Dave Crook & Kyle Cornelius

WBDC – Jasper Thrilling Semi State Baseball Ending

WHBU – State Finals Lucas Oil Zack


WAMW – WAMW Etiennes Watermelon

WERK – Date My Daughter MITS

WQLK – Greenville Farm Power of the Past

Best Promotional Campaign

WKOA – Subaru Car Giveaway

WRSW – WRSW’s Family Vacation

WSCH – WSCH- U Pick, U Pack Getaway Giveaway 2017

Election Coverage

WAMW – WAMW Election Coverage

Television Market 1: Indianapolis Metro Area

Station of the Year




General News Story 

WISH – Today’s the Day

WTHR – Attacked

WXIN – Officer Saves Baby with Taser

News Feature/Use of Medium

WRTV – Delphi Daughters the Untold Story of Abby and Libby

WTHR – The Young Urban Gardener

WTTV – Honors for PTSD Suicide Veterans


WTHR – Tracking the Tornado

Local Community Involvement

WISH – WISH Patrol

WTHR – Tornado Relief August 2016

WXIN – FOX59 Packs the Pantries


WISH – The Zone

WTHR – TrackTeam 13

WXIN – Football Friday Night 2016 State Championship Games


WISH – Civic Theater – Music Man

WISH – Stacked Pickle – Hungry Yet Campaign

WRTV – Child Advocates

Election Coverage

WISH – Your Vote

WTHR – Decision 2016

WXIN/WTTV  – Election 2016

Television Market 2: All Other Markets

Station of the Year

Lakeshore PBS



General News Story

WEHT – One of Twenty Two

WEVV – Falling Through the Cracks

WSBT – ‘Project Homecoming’ Gives Healthcare to Homeless Neighbors

News Feature/Use of Medium

WANE – Carpool Conversation with Logan Allen

WLFI – Christian Burns Habitat House

WTHI – Seven-year-old gets a job to buy presents for other kids


WANE – Nicholas Ferreri

WEHT – Gibson County Tornado

WPTA ABC 21 – Matt Leach

Local Community Involvement

WFIE – Sunrise School Spirit

WLFI – “W18 2TXT” Community Involvement

WYIN – Town Hall on Race, Justice, Community and Policing


WANE – Highlight Zone September 23, 2016

WEHT – The 19th Hole

WTWO – Grant Pugh Best Sportscast


WTWO – Baeslers Commercial

WTWO – Owens Motorsports Commercial

WTWO – Big Bounce Funhouse Commercial

Election Coverage

WEHT – 2016 Your Local Election Headquarters

WNDU – Election Coverage 2016



"*" indicates required fields

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.